K.V. Johansen Author of Fantasy and Children's Literature
News Pippin Fiction Non-fictionAuthor BioReadings & WorkshopsLinksContact

Non-fiction Articles
Essay 1, Oct. 2001
Essay 2, Dec. 2001
Essay 3, Feb. 2002
Essay 4, Apr. 2002
Essay 5, Jun. 2002
Essay 6, Oct. 2002

Essay 7, Dec. 2002
Essay 8, Feb. 2003
Essay 9, Apr. 2003
Essay 10, Jun. 2003
Essay 11, Oct. 2003
Essay 12, Dec. 2003

The original column on children's fantasy literature can be found in Resource Links magazine. To obtain a licence to make a limited number of copies of the essays for personal or educational use, please contact Access Copyright. For requests to re-print articles, please contact the author.

These booklists are not intended to be a comprehensive children's fantasy literature bibliography. Penguin/Puffin kept many children's classics in print in paperback through the sixties and seventies, but has fewer now than they used to. Random House's Red Fox imprint has been reissuing many classics lately. If you or your bookstore can't find a book in "Books in Print" or listed on the major on-line bookstores such as Amazon Canada, Amazon USA or Amazon UK, or try searching for used copies.

Essay # 11
The Nineties:
Rushdie, Pullman, Pratchett, Louise Cooper, and Tanith Lee

Salman Rushdie

Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990)

Philip Pullman

Count Karlstein (1982)Count Karlstein

The Firework-Maker's Daugher (1995)

His Dark Materials trilogy:
Northern Lights (1995; Carnegie Medal and Guardian Award; US title - The Golden Compass)
The Subtle Knife (1997)
The Amber Spygrass (2000; 2001 Whitbread Book of the Year)

Terry Pratchett -- Jump back to top --

The Carpet People (1971; revised edition 1992)

The Bromeliad trilogy:Bromeliad
Truckers (1989)
Diggers (1990)
Wings (1990)
The Bromeliad (one volume 1998)

The 'Johnny Maxwell' books:
Only You Can Save Mankind (1992)
Johnny and the Dead (1993)
Johnny and the Bomb (1996)

Discworld books for younger readers (though many children and teens read all the Discworld novels):
The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents (2001; Carnegie Medal)
The Wee Free Men (2003)

Louise Cooper -- Jump back to top --

for younger children:

once I caught a fish aliveCreatures series:
Once I Caught a Fish Alive (1998)
If You Go Down to the Woods (1998)
See How They Run (1998)
Who's Been Sitting In My Chair (1999)
Give a Dog a Bone (1999)
Atishoo! Atishoo! All Fall Down (1999)
Creatures at Christmas (1999)
Incy Wincy Spider (2000)
Here Comes a Candle (2000)

Sea Horses (2003)

for older children:

Hunter's Moon (2003)

Demon Crossing (2002)

for teens:

Dark Enchantments series (most of these appeared under two different titles from the same publisher):
Hounds of Winter/Heart of Ice (1996/1998)
Blood Dance/Heart of Stone (1996/1998)
Firespell/Heart of Fire (1996/1998)
The Shrouded Mirror/Heart of Glass (1996/1998)
Heart of Dust (1998)

trilogy set in her adult series world of Chaos and Order:Mirror, Mirror
Daughter of Storms (1990)
The Dark Caller (1997)
Keepers of Light (1998)

Mirror, Mirror:
Breaking Through (2000)
Running Free (2000)
Testing Limits (2001)

Tanith Lee -- Jump back to top --

for children:

The Dragon Hoard (1971)

Princess Hynchatti and Some Other Surprises (1972; short stories)

for teens:

Prince on a White Horse (1982)

East of Midnight (1977)Queen of the Wolves

Unicorn trilogy:
Black Unicorn (1991)
Gold Unicorn (1994)
Red Unicorn (1997)

Wolf Tower series (US - the Claidi Journals):
Law of the Wolf Tower (1998; US - Wolf Tower)
Wolf Star Rise (2000; US - Wolf Star)
Queen of the Wolves (2001; US - Wolf Queen)
Wolf Wing (2002)

O.R. Melling -- Jump back to top --

The Druid's Tune (1983)

The Singing Stone (1986)

The Chronicles of Faerie:
The Hunter's Moon (1993)
The Summer King (1999)
The Light-Bearer's Daughter (2001)
The Book of Dreams (2003)
Chronicles of Faerie (first three books in one volume, 2002)

Michael Bedard

A Darker Magic (1987)

Redwork (1992; Governor-General's Award)

Painted Devil (1994)

Kenneth Oppel -- Jump back to top -- Dead Water Zone

Colin's Fantastic Video Adventure (1985)

Dead Water Zone (1992)

his series about bats:

Silverwing (1997)
Sunwing (2000)
Firewing (2002)

©2003 K.V. Johansen