K.V. Johansen Author of Fantasy and Children's Literature
News Pippin Fiction Non-fictionAuthor BioReadings & WorkshopsLinksContact

Non-fiction Articles
Essay 1, Oct. 2001
Essay 2, Dec. 2001
Essay 3, Feb. 2002
Essay 4, Apr. 2002
Essay 5, Jun. 2002
Essay 6, Oct. 2002

Essay 7, Dec. 2002
Essay 8, Feb. 2003
Essay 9, Apr. 2003
Essay 10, Jun. 2003
Essay 11, Oct. 2003
Essay 12, Dec. 2003

The original column on children's fantasy literature can be found in Resource Links magazine. To obtain a licence to make a limited number of copies of the essays for personal or educational use, please contact Access Copyright. For requests to re-print articles, please contact the author.

These booklists are not intended to be a comprehensive children's fantasy literature bibliography. Penguin/Puffin kept many children's classics in print in paperback through the sixties and seventies, but has fewer now than they used to. Random House's Red Fox imprint has been reissuing many classics lately. If you or your bookstore can't find a book in "Books in Print" or listed on the major on-line bookstores such as Amazon Canada, Amazon USA or Amazon UK, or try searching for used copies.

Essay # 9
The Seventies: Susan Cooper, Lloyd Alexander, Penelope Lively, and Patricia Wrightson

Susan Cooper

The Dark is Rising:Susan Cooper - The Dark is Rising
Over Sea, Under Stone (1965)
The Dark is Rising (1973)
Greenwitch (1974)
The Grey King (1975; Newbery Medal)
Silver on the Tree (1977)

Green Boy (2003)
King of Shadows (1999)
The Boggart (1993)
The Boggart and the Monster (1997)
Seaward (1983)

Lloyd Alexanderlloyd alexander - the high king-- Jump back to top --

The Chronicles of Prydain:
The Book of Three (1964)
The Black Cauldron (1965; Newbery Honor)
The Castle of Llyr (1966)
Taran Wanderer (1967)
The High King (1968; Newbery Medal)
The Foundling and Other Tales of Prydain (short story collection; 1973)

The First Two Lives of Lukas-Kasha (1978)
The Marvelous Misadventures of Sebastian (1970)
The Iron Ring (1997)

Westmark trilogy:
Westmark (1981)
The Kestrel (1982)
The Beggar Queen (1984)

Penelope LivelyPenelope Lively - the ghost of thomas kempe -- Jump back to top --

Astercote (1970)
The Wild Hunt of Hagworthy (1971)
The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (1973; Carnegie Medal)
The Revenge of Samuel Stokes (1981)

Patricia Wrightson-- Jump back to top --

The Book of Wirrun:
The Ice is Coming (1977)
The Dark Bright Water (1979)
Behind the Wind (1981)

also mentioned:

Ursula K. LeGuinUrsula K. LeGuin The earthsea - the other wind-- Jump back to top --

Earthsea series:
A Wizard of Earthsea (1968)
The Tombs of Atuan (1971)
The Farthest Shore (1972)
Tehanu (1990; Nebula Award)
Tales From Earthsea (2001)
The Other Wind (2001)

Patricia A. McKillipPatricia A. McKillip The Riddle Master-- Jump back to top --

The Riddle-Master trilogy:
The Riddle-Master of Hed (1976)
Heir of Sea and Fire (1977)
Harpist in the Wind (1979)

Riddle-Master: The Complete Trilogy (published one volume 1999; in the UK as The Riddle-Master's Game 2001)

©2003 K.V. Johansen