K.V. Johansen Author of Fantasy and Children's Literature
News Pippin Fiction Non-fictionAuthor BioReadings & WorkshopsLinksContact

Non-fiction Articles
Essay 1, Oct. 2001
Essay 2, Dec. 2001
Essay 3, Feb. 2002
Essay 4, Apr. 2002
Essay 5, Jun. 2002
Essay 6, Oct. 2002
Essay 7, Dec. 2002

Essay 8, Feb. 2003
Essay 9, Apr. 2003

Essay 10, Jun. 2003
Essay 11, Oct. 2003
Essay 12, Dec. 2003

The original column on children's fantasy literature can be found in Resource Links magazine. To obtain a licence to make a limited number of copies of the essays for personal or educational use, please contact Access Copyright. For requests to re-print articles, please contact the author.

These booklists are not intended to be a comprehensive children's fantasy literature bibliography. Penguin/Puffin kept many children's classics in print in paperback through the sixties and seventies, but has fewer now than they used to. Random House's Red Fox imprint has been reissuing many classics lately. If you or your bookstore can't find a book in "Books in Print" or listed on the major on-line bookstores such as Amazon Canada, Amazon USA or Amazon UK, or try searching for used copies.

Essay #3: Nesbit, Baum, and de la Mare's Royal Monkeys

E. Nesbit
(much of Nesbit is still available from Puffin)
The Story of the Treasure Seekers (1899)
The Wouldbegoods (1901)
The New Treasure Seekers (1904)
The Railway Children (1906)
The Book of Dragons/The Complete Book of Dragons/The Last of the Dragons and Some Others (1901/Puffin 1972/1975)
Five Children and It (1902)
The Phoenix and the Carpet (1904)
The Story of the Amulet (1906)
The Enchanted Castle (1908)
The House of Arden (1908; recently in Red Fox Classics)
Harding's Luck (1909)
The Magic City (1910)
The Wonderful Garden (1911)
Wet Magic (1913)
Nine Unlikely Tales (?; reissued 1960)
Five of Us – And Madeline (1925)

Rudyard Kipling
Puck of Pook's Hill (1906; 1990's Penguin)
Rewards and Fairies (1910; ")

L. Frank Baum
Oz The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
(1900; numerous editions)
The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904; lesser-known Baum is mostly in print now from Dover Books)
Ozma of Oz (1907)
Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)
The Road to Oz (1909)
The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
Little Wizard Stories of Oz (1913)
Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
Rinkitink in Oz (1916)
The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)
The Magic of Oz (1919)
Glinda of Oz (1920)
non-Oz but connected and mentioned in essay
Queen Zixi of Ix (1905)
The Sea-Fairies (1911)
Sky Island (1912)

Walter de la Mare
The Three Mulla-Mulgars/The Three Royal Monkeys

©2002 K.V. Johansen