K.V. Johansen Author of Fantasy and Children's Literature
News Pippin Fiction Non-fictionAuthor BioReadings & WorkshopsLinksContact

Non-fiction Articles
Essay 1, Oct. 2001
Essay 2, Dec. 2001
Essay 3, Feb. 2002
Essay 4, Apr. 2002
Essay 5, Jun. 2002
Essay 6, Oct. 2002

Essay 7, Dec. 2002
Essay 8, Feb. 2003
Essay 9, Apr. 2003
Essay 10, Jun. 2003
Essay 11, Oct. 2003
Essay 12, Dec. 2003

The original column on children's fantasy literature can be found in Resource Links magazine. To obtain a licence to make a limited number of copies of the essays for personal or educational use, please contact Access Copyright. For requests to re-print articles, please contact the author.

These booklists are not intended to be a comprehensive children's fantasy literature bibliography. Penguin/Puffin kept many children's classics in print in paperback through the sixties and seventies, but has fewer now than they used to. Random House's Red Fox imprint has been reissuing many classics lately. If you or your bookstore can't find a book in "Books in Print" or listed on the major on-line bookstores such as Amazon Canada, Amazon USA or Amazon UK, or try searching for used copies.

Essay # 12
The Twenty-First Century: J.K. Rowling, Neil Gaiman, Garth Nix

J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (1997; US title -- Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000; Hugo Award)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)

coraline neil gaimanNeil Gaiman

Coraline (2002)

Good Omens (1990; co-written with Terry Pratchett)

Garth Nix

for younger children:
(as with all such age designations, these are a continuum rather than any hard and fast division)

Violet KeystoneThe Seventh Tower series:
The Fall (2000)
Castle (2000)
Aenir (2001)
Above the Veil (2001)
Into Battle (2001)
The Violet Keystone (2001)

for children:

The Ragwitch (1990)

The Keys to the Kingdom series:
Mister Monday (2003)
Grim Tuesday (2003)

sabriel garth nixfor teens:

Shade's Children (1997)

Books set in the Old Kingdom and Ancelstierre:
Sabriel (1995; Aurealis Award for Australian sf)
Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr (2001)
Abhorsen (2003)

©2003 K.V. Johansen